I got the power!

Here’s hoping everyone had a marvelous Thanksgiving!  I know I did!  I threw all thoughts of dieting aside and stuffed myself in the great American tradition.

On Saturday we had Christmas because my snow bird parents will head south (health permitting) sometime in December.  They didn’t get out at all last winter due to health issues and they are missing their little home in Moab.  I already have plans to visit them there next spring.

The Cabin has been on my mind a lot lately.  Holiday and birthday get-togethers have kept me in town since September and I left things undone up there that I will undoubtedly regret.  I especially don’t look forward to having to thaw the composting toilet inside by the fire in order to be able to dump it…blech!

What I do look forward to, however, is being able to use my new toy…my family got together, with the help and instigation of my roommate, and got me a new generator for Christmas!

Ain’t she a beauty! 1000 watts all mine…

I think Dad is as excited as I am.  It won’t power anything very big, but I’ll be able to recharge electronics like power tools and my Kindle as well as possibly run a little electric cooler.  It would be nice to have real groceries like meat and dairy products for my longer stays. 

We had several good talks about my plans for a future cabin up there.  I showed him a floor plan from my builder’s website along with a price sheet of extras that I am including in my estimated costs.  (If you’re interested check out the website at www.friesenscustomcabins.com  I’m going with Plan 5 in a 20×24′ size.)

Dad had several good ideas for things like the plumbing and electrical and wants to get up there to help me bring down some of the bigger dead trees on the property this winter. 

After we were done oohing and aahing over the generator, he turned to me and said “The next thing you need is a four-wheeler right?”  Whew.  Things are really starting to come together for this project fast!  With a little bit of spending self-control and luck, I could be handing Jay Friesen my down payment next winter!

Categories: cabin | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I got the power!

  1. This has been the mildest winter yet here in Moab! No snow yet, and light jacket weather. Just beautiful, but worrisome for the lack of moisture. Your parents will love it if it continues, I know I am.

    And I must say I’m totally jealous of the gen. That’s my cup of tea for a nice present!

    • Wow, still no snow there? You’ll probably have some by the time they go.
      Thanks, I agree – the generator is the coolest! I haven’t had the fortitude to take it out in subzero weather to try it yet, but it has warmed up some now. The big test will be whether I can start it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Friesen's Cabin Journal

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

The Good Luck Duck

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Off the Beaten Path: Hikes, Backpacks, and Travels

"For heaven's sake (and for the Earth's), let's get it together. Get out there! Listen! The wild places will fill you up. Let them." Walkin' Jim Stoltz, 1953 - 2010

offgridcabin

an experiment in off-grid living

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Kurt's Quest

WELCOME!! Please take a few minutes to look around, make some comments, and enjoy!!!

The Blog of Otis

Join...CLICK...Treat

Spotted Dog Ranch

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Travel With The Bayfield Bunch:))

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

rvsue and her canine crew

Living on less and enjoying life more

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

