June 29

46F at 7am.  With no way to keep the Cabin heated overnight, I sure hope it doesn’t get a lot colder than this.  I’m really glad I left my heavy old sleeping bag on my bed as a comforter.  The lake was pretty well socked in this morning, but the skies cleared off fairly quickly.  High for today was 70F, which is very tolerable.  There has been a fairly stiff breeze all day which keeps mosquitoes down, but has little to no effect on these dang flies.  Luckily the breeze has mostly been out of the west which keeps the smell of the moose calf carcass away.  I got a strong whiff of that last night and may have to do something if the breeze shifts.

Chitters taking a nap – one of many today!

Chitters and I had kind of a lazy day.  He is still sleeping off his drugs and his anxiety from yesterday’s trip, though he did venture off the deck for a little bit of exploration earlier.  I took advantage of his long naps to launch the boat and go back across the lake for my cooler and other goods.  While there, I went for a short drive up the highway until I got a good enough signal on my phone to text all my worriers that we both made it.  On the way back, as I was hiking from the parking lot back down to my boat the phone dinged with a response…crazy signal pops in and out unpredictably! 

This kind of cloud I like

This afternoon I went up the trail to the moose carcass and considered my options.  A: drag the thing further away and hope that it’s far enough, B: dig a hole and bury it (which still involves some dragging as the brush is so thick where it lays) or C: cover it up somehow.  I wandered further into the woods to look at my future building site for my new cabin and to scope out possible burial sites, but the smell finally chased me back to the Cabin which is mercifully still upwind of the carcass. 

Ruins of an old trapper’s cabin near the site where I want to build my new cabin

It was getting late so I washed up and made a lettuce wedge with blue cheese and little tomatoes for dinner.  Chitters is still pretty mellow and going to bed early is always an easy sell for me!  I’ll worry about the little moose tomorrow.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “June 29

  1. Your lifestyle is the opposite of mine but I love to see Alaska in the movies and pics so i’ll be visiting your site often. All the best in the Alaska cabin living.

    • akwoman

      Thank you so much for visiting! My winter lifestyle probably isn’t so different from the average American, (eat, sleep, work…work…work…) but the Cabin is never far from my mind!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Friesen's Cabin Journal

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

The Good Luck Duck

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Off the Beaten Path: Hikes, Backpacks, and Travels

"For heaven's sake (and for the Earth's), let's get it together. Get out there! Listen! The wild places will fill you up. Let them." Walkin' Jim Stoltz, 1953 - 2010

offgridcabin

an experiment in off-grid living

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Kurt's Quest

WELCOME!! Please take a few minutes to look around, make some comments, and enjoy!!!

The Blog of Otis

Join...CLICK...Treat

Spotted Dog Ranch

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Travel With The Bayfield Bunch:))

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

rvsue and her canine crew

Living on less and enjoying life more

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

