June 16 Dry-goods run…sort of

Well, really a wet-goods run…I took advantage of availability of friends again to haul in another 8 gallons of water and a few more clothes and groceries.  Unfortunately, since we drove the motor home, I made the conscious decision to leave my car keys at home.  You guessed it, the cabin keys are on the same key ring!  I called myself some choice names and used up most of my “big girl” words!  Oddly my friends just laughed…very little sympathy to be had!  Either that or they are getting used to my “menopause brain!”

Luckily there were some little paddles for an old rubber raft stashed under the deck (we keep the good oars secured in the cabin), so with the help of friend T. we rowed Indian-canoe style across a perfectly glassy calm lake and hauled the water and other goods up to be stored under the eaves on the east side of the cabin.  Even unattended as they are, they should be ok for a few days. 

Although the clouds moved in, the calm weather held and the chore was pleasant – probably more so than if it was really warm and sunny.  We finished quickly since we couldn’t linger (sigh) and headed up to join S. at her cabin for another evening of dinner and Farkle. 

T. stayed overnight but left early to go to work – on Sunday?…bleah.  The rest of us had a more leisurely morning featuring a sumptuous breakfast prepared by S. complete with bacon, eggs and toast before heading back to town.

I am already making plans to come up again this week – with the key – to more securely stash my belongings inside.  Since I don’t work on Friday I can get here Thursday evening, have a full day here and then get back to town on Saturday to do chores to get ready for my real vacation.  Actually it will be a nice break from the freight hauling trips.  I’ll have time to take some pictures to share and if the weather stays dry I can start on treating the lumber with the Thompson’s Water Seal that we just brought up. Or I could just relax and enjoy my Cabin!

I spoke to my Dad this week about the dock.  He is really excited and plans to come up while I’m there in July to help me build it.  We have tentatively planned to use logs as the vertical supports since the cedar was not readily available in the size needed when I bought the rest of the lumber.  I still have to pick up some rebar to use as an anchor, like a tent peg, securing it to the shore.

I will also be stopping by the local locksmith for a second copy of this doggone key to hide on the property somewhere!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Friesen's Cabin Journal

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

The Good Luck Duck

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Off the Beaten Path: Hikes, Backpacks, and Travels

"For heaven's sake (and for the Earth's), let's get it together. Get out there! Listen! The wild places will fill you up. Let them." Walkin' Jim Stoltz, 1953 - 2010

offgridcabin

an experiment in off-grid living

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Kurt's Quest

WELCOME!! Please take a few minutes to look around, make some comments, and enjoy!!!

The Blog of Otis

Join...CLICK...Treat

Spotted Dog Ranch

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Travel With The Bayfield Bunch:))

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

rvsue and her canine crew

Living on less and enjoying life more

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

