Getting there

Part of the charm of a “get away from it all” cabin is in the getting there. I’ve learned to leave early because even though the drive is only about 90 minutes, and even though I’ve done that drive maybe a thousand times, I still find myself pulling over to enjoy the views along the highway. Finally I pull through the gates of the camp where we have been graciously allowed to park and drive down to the water’s edge where I unload my car before driving it back up to the parking area. A short hike – maybe a half mile at the most – and I’m at my front door where I collect the oars and go down to put the boat into the water.

Besides my feet, the primary mode of transportation

The first trip of each season I always struggle to stay on task! I want to linger on the deck and drink in the fresh air and listen for the loons. I want to paddle around to my favorite spots in the afternoon sun.
But I have gear that must be removed from the camp’s beach to my own property and when I bring my cat, he must be collected asap! So off I go.
Some grunting and sweating over loading the gear and sometimes wet feet in the process of landing and taking off at the camp end (their dock is fenced off for safety except when they have a lifeguard on duty) and finally I’m heading back across the lake.
At my dock, I unload and tie up and then begins the real work of hauling everything up a very steep little hill to the cabin itself. Coolers and bottled drinks sometimes get left in the shade until the next day! 

Chitters the Cat is always a bit nervous at first, but quickly relaxes and begins to enjoy the freedom of Cabin life. He has his own set of stories that I will have to share!

Mr Chitters surveys his domain

The first chore once we’ve arrived – before unpacking, before fixing dinner, before anything – is to haul out the deck chairs, arrange camera and binoculars so they are close at hand, and take a break!
ahhh!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Friesen's Cabin Journal

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

The Good Luck Duck

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Off the Beaten Path: Hikes, Backpacks, and Travels

"For heaven's sake (and for the Earth's), let's get it together. Get out there! Listen! The wild places will fill you up. Let them." Walkin' Jim Stoltz, 1953 - 2010

offgridcabin

an experiment in off-grid living

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Kurt's Quest

WELCOME!! Please take a few minutes to look around, make some comments, and enjoy!!!

The Blog of Otis

Join...CLICK...Treat

Spotted Dog Ranch

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Travel With The Bayfield Bunch:))

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

rvsue and her canine crew

Living on less and enjoying life more

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

