An introduction to my neighbors

The loons sometimes pop up right off my stern when I'm rowing my boat

My parents and I are rarely at the Cabin at the same time anymore, so Mom left a notebook up there for us to exchange notes about the birds we had seen.  They have a number of bird books that they consult on a daily basis, but since they take them back to Kenai with them when they leave, and since I somehow never invested in any of my own, the notebook was in danger of being one sided.  I can only identify the obvious like the trumpeter swans that stopped by one afternoon (VERY exciting!) or the stellar jays and camp robbers (aka grey jays).  So my notebook entries quickly evolved into general observations about life around the Cabin.

My human neighbors are busy and sometimes a little noisy, though as a price for the privacy we enjoy I really can’t complain.  My wild neighbors are noisy in their own way, but the noise fits somehow.  A cow moose crashing through the underbrush, while startling on a quiet evening, is less jarring than the buzz of the four-wheelers across the lake.  We have a family of loons that have become regulars, much to my delight.  In years past we had red-necked grebes, also entertaining.  We have a couple of families of muskrats, but the beavers left for greener pastures some years ago.  Dad has seen weasels, rabbits (or more properly, “hares”) abound, and a neighbor a few miles down the highway shot a photo of a lynx crossing her driveway.  We’ve heard coyotes singing and seen dall sheep on the hillside beyond the end of the lake (with the spotting scope), and once Dad woke us all up after a late night trip to the outhouse and we all tramped out to see a little boreal owl hooting softly on a branch above the trail.  As a kid I named the resident squirrel “Deckster” since he spent so much time looking for scraps on our deck.  I am sure I left out a few, but you get the idea.  Lots of neighbors, and lots of stories.

Stay tuned!

Categories: wildlife | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Friesen's Cabin Journal

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

The Good Luck Duck

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Off the Beaten Path: Hikes, Backpacks, and Travels

"For heaven's sake (and for the Earth's), let's get it together. Get out there! Listen! The wild places will fill you up. Let them." Walkin' Jim Stoltz, 1953 - 2010

offgridcabin

an experiment in off-grid living

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Kurt's Quest

WELCOME!! Please take a few minutes to look around, make some comments, and enjoy!!!

The Blog of Otis

Join...CLICK...Treat

Spotted Dog Ranch

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

Travel With The Bayfield Bunch:))

Stories of A Little Cabin in the Woods

rvsue and her canine crew

Living on less and enjoying life more

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

